Restricted category To view older posts, you must first submit an approved post in that category

Virtual Onsite Interview, Debrief, Communications

My virtual onsite interview for a role in Commnications was last week, and I received the phone call yesterday with no job offer. As we all know, they can’t reveal much information in the way of feedback, but I could glean that their primary response was that I would work better on a team of content producers. I was told I’d be a good fit at Amazon and exemplified many of their leadership principles. That was the recruiter’s exact words. Top sheet = enjoyed interviewing you and keep applying.

Just a bit of background on myself, I am a filmmaker who did the exact job, a solo shooter/editor, for 3 years. My career has taken me to the point where I now handle bigger budgets and more crew.

I couldn’t tell all of the questions they asked exactly, but I can say this: A to Z prep guide is on point with preparing stories and answering their questions.

Here was my failure: In preparing my stories, I focused more on stories that showcased LP rather than stories tailored to the job description. Why wouldn’t you tell stories that matched the description? That’s a good question. As I mentioned earlier, my career has since progressed beyond the job description. So I fell into the trap, of telling more recent stories, and to me, resulted in better products and outcomes but did not showcase the exact skills they wanted to hear.

It’s a strange place to dig back into a skill set that you feel like you’d graduated from. I was interested in the job because I am looking for a door into Amazon, and it was the job that I knew I could do (maybe even overqualified).