Restricted category To view older posts, you must first submit an approved post in that category

Startup vs. big tech?

I’m a college student seeking advice on how to start my career in tech. What are the pros and cons of startups vs. big tech? I’m fairly technical and thrive in collaborative environments.

1 Like

This is a great question and something I struggled with early on in my career. It all depends on how much of an impact you want to make and how structured you want your learning experience to be.

At a startup, the work you do will be integral to the product your team is building. You will be given much more responsibility right away. Startups are also more likely to be less organized because products and company direction will be frequently changing. However, you will have some degree of influence at every stage of the process.

In a big tech company, your impact will be minimal. You might be working on a tiny feature, or even a small aspect of the already tiny feature. You’ll have less impact but a more structured experience. On your team, you’ll have a decent idea of the work you’ll be doing and the future of the product you’re building for at least the next few months. You’ll also have access to more resources and mentorship opportunities at a more established company.

Hope this is somewhat helpful!

2 Likes

I think @ch1988 covered the main points. The main thing to consider is how you deal with uncertainty, lack of clear structure, and impact. It’s a tradeoff between uncertainty/lack of clear structure and impact. If you value knowing what you’ll be doing in the long run and don’t care about making substantial impact, big tech is for you. If you thrive in environments where things are constantly change/product direction shifts frequently and want to make a large overall impact then startups are the way to go.